TGIF

The 5th day at the new job (e.g. the first Friday) consisted of yet more training, and a small amount of casework, but I still love the new gig.

I stayed in the office a little past 5:00, and after almost everyone had left for the weekend, BUT I got in a great run through Central Park this evening. This was the same route as the ridiculous Japan Day 4M race in the 80 degree weather with 80% humidity. I made a few moderations that extended the distance a little, and the weather tonight was absolutely beautiful running weather. Low 70s, a breeze, hardly any humidity. Perfect. There was even a dude who high-fived me as I was flying down East Side Drive between miles 3 and 4. I could tell I was pushing it from the start, but it felt sustainable so I kept at it. Had a pace of 8:08, and for the first time I’m starting to reach my high school pace levels (back when I ran both track and cross country), and I felt fantastic both during and afterwards.

To top off the evening? A mimosa with some leftover champagne from Wednesday night’s celebration. Bring on the weekend! The U.S. and England play tomorrow, and I think I’ll be watching that game. Go USA!

Leave a Reply

