The Countdown Begins…

1 week left.

1 week until she leaves for Boston and law school.

I continue to wait for further instruction from a certain entity as I continue through their process. I noticed that they pulled my credit last month, so the background investigation has started. The message boards I follow for others in my position have indicated that at least one person from our announcement has started the screening process, and with a new injection of funding from the Obama administration, prospects continue to improve.

In the meantime I ponder the thought of retaking the LSAT next summer (the first one I took has just expired). Just because, and it leaves an option open that I never fully closed. It’s still an option that I would be happy with. Yet again I find myself at a crossroads of multiple opportunities and multiple choices that need to be made (all at the ripe old age of 25). Not that it’s a bad position to be in. Just one that requires much thought and decision-making.

In the meantime though, I am enjoying a new job and position I love that came with a 33% salary increase, and probably 75% less needless stress. I am now a BoltBus “Rewards Member” and am glad that I invested in that MacBook purchase last February (the 7+ hour battery life will be great on all those 4 hour bus trips to Boston and back). I will resume my road races with NYRR in September, and have plans afterwards for brunch and some video gaming (like in the good old days) with a friend who I’ve turned into a fellow maniac runner. Perhaps I’ll finally dedicate myself to the ultimate goal of fluency rather than conversational Spanglish.

And most important of all, I get to see the person I love more than life itself head off to an opportunity that no one deserves more than she does…and I’ll also be the one to make sure that she remembers that she is still human and must eat and sleep every once in while during that first year of law school. It’s the least I can do. I’ll miss her terribly. But I couldn’t be more excited for her, and am very curious as to what I will find in her fridge (or not find for that matter) the first time I come up to visit. šŸ˜‰

4 responses to “The Countdown Begins…

  1. Boo for long distance relationships, but yay for great opportunities and prospects!

  2. I’m gonna cry…

  3. *You’re* gonna cry? What about me?!? šŸ˜‰

    P.S. It’s your job to distract me. For the next 3 years (or as long as I’m around before a certain agency steals my life and soul…).

  4. PhilosopherP

    As the spouse of a new 2L, I can tell you that the 1L year will be an adventure for you too… being away would be pretty difficult, but you two have a good relationship and your support will be vital to her success, no matter where you are. You can’t even imagine now what this time next year will be like… in retrospect, it’s an amazing adventure and a very weird process… just wait until law review petition time — and then OCI (on campus interview) stress.. you have that to look forward to at the end of Spring semester.

Leave a Reply

