Having Full Support

Well folks it’s Monday evening, and here I sit in the kitchen of my new place after just getting home from a great workout at the gym, having just finished my dinner of pasta with a tomato and basil sauce made by Patsy’s that I found at Duane Reade of all places (I know, right?), listening to the rain and wind outside, and thinking about how good I have it.

The last few posts have been about the stress of moving into a new place, and starting a long distance relationship, but life is actually really good. The reason it’s good is because I get to go up twice a month to see my partner, and I just got home from one such trip this weekend. Aside from a hellacious 6 1/2 hour bus trip up (something that could warrant it’s own post I assure you), this past weekend was really great and exactly what I need in my escapes from the city. On Friday night we went over to her friend’s house and had just a really low key hangout, and on Saturday we spent the entire day together walking to Target and Home Depot across the river and then hitting up a hopping craft beer place / pool hall with a lot of her friends from school that night. On Sunday we had a low key morning complete with coffee and breakfast in bed, and then she came with me to South Station where I caught my bus home. While we stood in line, we had a fantastic conversation about her future, my future, and our future. Even as the long distance relationships around her fall apart, we are solid and that’s a great feeling. It doesn’t even seem like a month and a half has already passed, but it has. We’re already talking holiday plans, which won’t take place until the first semester is already over! We seem to be flying right through!

I’ve been thinking about this for a long time now, but I am at a crossroads career-wise. On the one hand (and those of you who know me personally will catch the cryptic references that I can’t broadcast over the internet) I have a really fascinating opportunity that could really be amazing, but the downside is that I have to be willing to go wherever they want me to go. I would not have control over where I’m sent first, or even if I can stay there permanently in the event that I’m needed elsewhere. On the other hand, I’ve decided to re-take the LSAT in June because my old exam has expired. While waiting for the bus we talked a lot about me working as a District Attorney or at the US Attorney’s office, as well as what schools I could realistically get into, and it was awesome to have someone there who I could have that open and honest conversation with. The clear benefit to this is that I would have a lot more say over where I live, and whether or not I can stay there, and that’s a huge benefit in my eyes. A lot has happened in the 5 years since I chose not to go to law school, and instead embarked on a journey through a year of service in the AmeriCorps, obtained a Master’s Degree in Criminal Justice, and developed a professional resume here in New York City. All of this will aid me regardless of which option I choose, and I have a partner that will support either way I choose and do whatever she can to help me once I’ve made that choice. This is something that will unfold over the next year, and it will require a lot of thought on my part about what I really want.

That? That’s pretty fantastic. And is the best indication of why I’ve got it good. πŸ™‚

Edit: two attorneys in the same household? Whoa boy… πŸ˜‰

4 responses to “Having Full Support

  1. I love you.

  2. Anthony Fitzgerald

    The support of your friends!! You have that too!

  3. Oh goodness. How much I relate to everything in this post. I understand the long distance relationship stress. You two can handle this. It’s not even long distance, you are a bus ride away. πŸ™‚ It’s just hard going from being together every day, to rarely seeing each other, I know. But you two are both incredible individuals (I’ve never met Margot, but she seems outstanding) and I have no doubt that you can handle this.
    As far as the career path choice, I had to grapple with that same question. Although mine was either a high powered career as a lobbyist, or a low key career as a trainer and a family. I knew that I could not take both emotionally. You are amazing Shea. Absolutely amazing. You always have been. I know that you and Margot have got this hands down, and that no matter what you choose, you will go above and beyond. Just make sure that whatever it is, is what makes you happy!! I’m always here if you need to talk or vent about either issues, I know what it’s like. And make sure you are using the right criterian and value, that’s always key. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

