Fallout: New Vegas (10/19/2010)

We’ve made it kids. The upcoming release of what is arguably one of the most highly anticipated games of 2010 is here. 9 more days and we will be able to explore the apocalyptic world of Fallout once again, this time set in a town called New Vegas.

I realize what this post makes me: a nerd. A totally unabashed and highly vociferous nerd (though, don’t lump me in with the Cheetos-crunching, Red Bull-swigging crowd…they can’t even spell “unabashed” and “vociferous” let alone use them correctly in a sentence). I can’t help it though. Fallout 3 is easily one of my favorite Xbox games ever, and I spent more hours than I’d care to admit over the internet playing it. It was gritty, well written, often amusing, and an often terrifying portrait of what humanity would do to itself if it were ever thrown into a post-apocalyptic environment. There’s no government, no world order. It’s every person for his or herself, literally. The sheer brilliance of the game comes from the encounters you have with various characters, and you have to decide “is this person going to try and screw me over? Kill me? Steal all my precious things?” You are then forced to make a decision on how you want to interact with that character, and even saying the wrong thing could end in a bloody battle. Characters, and so-called “communities,” battled over radiated water and ammunition. If you decided you wanted to play as the conniving, selfish type, you could wait for them to kill each other off and then swoop in and steal the supplies that were battled over. You also have the option of being a “good” or “evil” character, and other characters would react to you in kind (apparently gossip is alive and well after the apocalypse…). Other times, you would end up in these fights and have to get yourself out of them alive. Sometimes you’d use more ammunition than you’d get back in these battles. Fallout 3 took you, the player, deep into the heart of a wasteland DC and not only did you have to navigate your way past dangerous mutated creatures and “mutants,” you’d have to get past overly zealous military personnel, thieves, and even religious fanatics. For those of you who know me offline, it should come as no surprise why I loved this game. It illustrates exactly what I personally believe would happen should we ever, god forbid, face this kind of scenario. It reminds me of books I grew up on, and loved, like William Golding’s Lord of the Flies where mob rule becomes inevitable once societal order is eliminated and replaced with anarchy.

The good news for people like me with this release is that it very much looks like it will live up to its predecessor. The exact same people responsible for Fallout 3 worked on Fallout: New Vegas. So when you stop hearing from me in about a week and a half, you’ll know why. I’ll be glued to my TV, Xbox, and another dystopia courtesy of Bethesda Game Studios!

5 responses to “Fallout: New Vegas (10/19/2010)

  1. Anthony Fitzgerald

    Giggity gig-giggity goo. I CAN’T WAIT!!!!! And then after playing for a bit, it’s off to real Vegas!

  2. AHHH! That video clip you sent me was NOT fair! I want to play it now!

  3. I knew it.. I knew you were all about Hobbe’s State of Nature and Social Contract… I was always a Locke girl myself… This game combines Hobbe’s state of nature and social contract, with a deontological and objectivism stance of survival… Of course you like it… Nerd.. 😉

  4. Hobbes had it right. He was a cynical a-hole, but he knew what he was talking about! Especially during the time period he was writing in! Hobbes and my good old buddy Bertrand Russell have inspired my perception of humanity as a whole.

    And then Bethseda comes along and creates not one, but now two video games that display this perception PERFECTLY! I’ll happily drop $60 for hundreds of hours on that experience!

    (I *totally* dispelled the “Shea is a nerd” myth with this follow up comment…)

Leave a Reply

