9+1 and the 2011 NYC Half-Marathon

During the past year, I have been slowly but surely working my way towards achieving a guaranteed entry into the ING New York City marathon in 2011. The program that I have been seeking guaranteed entry through has been the New York Road Runner’s (NYRR) 9+1 guaranteed entry program. The marathon is notoriously difficult to get into, and there are very few guaranteed methods for getting in. This program requires NYRR members (which has a $40 annual membership fee) to run 9 “qualifying” races (generally at least 5K in length) during the 2010 calendar year and to volunteer at 1 event in that same year. On October 31, 2010, I volunteered at my one event, and I received my 9th race credit during the Continental Airlines Fifth Avenue Mile race on September 26, 2010 (one of the only races that was not at least 5K in length). This Monday, the day after the 2010 ING New York City marathon, I will be able to apply for the 2011 marathon.

But what to do in the meantime before marathon training officially begins? Why, the 2011 NYC Half-Marathon in March of course! At least I hope so. My friend and I put in for the lottery to the Half-Marathon, and supposedly the lottery selections will come out at the end of November, so I’ll know soon whether this is something I’m going to have to start training for. This race goes right through Times Square and down to Battery Park, which will be pretty cool if we get in. Training for this? That’ll start around January, and with the race in March, that leaves roughly 8 months left before the actual marathon.

Not bad planning really. This morning I guess I can say I ran a little over a quarter marathon through Boston (I ran 7 miles this morning). Halfway there for the half-marathon, and a quarter there for the marathon! 😉

Leave a Reply

