Unemployment & Economic Stability

No, not me. I’ll get that one out of the way right now; no, I did not lose my job today.

Someone else in my office did. The grant that funded a position was lost, and her position was eliminated as of last week. She found out last week, and the rest of us found out today. There were three of us with the same “title” if you will, and now there are two…the cruel irony being that for the two of us left, our jobs are probably more secure now than they were before because there is no way that one person alone can take on all that needs to be done. It’s going to be interesting with just two of us, but we haven’t started talking about how to make that work yet (e.g. here comes the increased work load!).

I also felt better after finding out from her that she had been offered the position with a disclaimer that this very thing could happen to her. I, nor the other person in the office, received any such disclaimer, and it’s good to know that this wasn’t a complete and total shock to her (but I’m going to guess it still sucks).

Despite this distinction, and the fact that it would be impossible to put all the work in our program on one person, I promptly signed into my bank account and transferred the expendable income that’s been sitting there into my savings account. I had no concrete plans to spend it or anything, but I’d been toying with the idea of stopping by American Eagle sometime this week. But now I know I won’t be spending it, which certainly doesn’t help with increasing customer spending and the overall economic recovery. It’s scary when someone in your office is let go due to funding because there’s literally nothing that person can do about it. It’s not like he/she can argue that job performance can be improved or there’s been a misunderstanding. It’s final and good luck in the ridiculously bad job market out there. Is it really that hard to understand why people who are employed aren’t out there spending their money? We’re watching people go down around us and thinking “uh oh, that could be me. I better save all my money just in case!” This, in turn, decreases customer revenue, which causes businesses and employers to make more staff cuts, which decreases customer revenue even more, ad infinitum.

I’m not sure how we get out of this mess, but we need to and we need to do it soon.

One response to “Unemployment & Economic Stability

  1. I think about this quite a bit. Being raised in a family that wasn’t poor, but thrifty, I learned to save as a kid. While I know spending is what should help boost the economy, I wonder if it isn’t better in the long run that people learn how to save. I dunno. It sounds heartless, because I know people are losing their jobs because of how bad the economy is. But I’m hoping that some good comes out of it.

Leave a Reply

