Studying for the LSAT while training for a half-marathon

Insanity? Mmmm, perhaps.

Earlier today I pounded out my 3-month LSAT study plan, which is to begin a week from this coming Monday. As a result, I’m taking the next week and a couple days off from the studying I have been doing (learning test-taking strategies, common question types, common language used, etc.), and plan on playing a healthy dose of Fallout: New Vegas tonight. Tomorrow morning my friend Anthony and I are to run the NYRR Coogan’s 5K race up in Washington Heights in what is pretty much guaranteed to be a downpour…at least it’s also supposed to be 50 degrees.

At the same time, I will be training for my first half-marathon ever, which will take place May 21st of this year (the NYRR Brooklyn Half-Marathon). Consequently, on every weekday night you can be assured I will be doing one of the following: LSAT studying or half-marathon training. As it gets warmer and the sunlight starts to last a little bit longer, I will probably be able to get the half-marathon training in before work (I used to go to the gym before work last fall and it was fantastic! Training for the half-marathon simply involves stepping out of my house and taking off!), so that will help to increase the number of nights I have “free” to do other things. I never thought I’d see it, but I think winter might be coming to an end soon, which means all of us will be able to come out of hibernation mode!

The interesting thought is that I’m essentially doing a similar process in both respects, so I feel like it’s not at all unmanageable while others (maybe even you, dear reader) may think I’m nuts; however, both endeavors require extreme diligence and work ethic in order to be successful. The only difference is that one is physical and one is intellectual/mental, and it’s the very environment that I tend to thrive in. Bring it on!! 🙂

4 responses to “Studying for the LSAT while training for a half-marathon

  1. When in all of this are you going to come hang out w us again?!?

    • Hahaha, that is an *excellent* question…actually, I have a thought! The same friend I referenced in this post is also running a 15K with me on the last Sunday of March. Afterward we’re going to go consume as many Belgian waffles as we can. The race isn’t until 11:15 am and in Central Park, so if you two would be interested in seeing an NYRR race and indulging in Belgian waffles afterward, you’re more than welcome to come join us!

  2. There’s an article about LSAT logic games you may find helpful at http://issuu.com/lucien6/docs/lsast_grading_self_help

    It’s a bit salesy, sorry, but the Logic Games are worth a look.

    • WordPress indeed filtered you as spam initially, but generally spambots don’t admit to being spambots, so I’ll take a look. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

