Onto a New Week!

Welcome to Wednesday! Except, for me it kinda feels like Tuesday because on Monday I was forced into taking a vacation day, so I didn’t return home from Boston until Monday and I started work on Tuesday, which felt like Monday because it was my first day of the work week. There. Was that confusing enough for you?

Some of you might have stopped reading after the first sentence. For those of you who continued, here’s what’s up this week:

  • First and foremost, on Friday (my Thursday, yet actually Friday…okay okay, I’ll stop) I will be in attendance at Terminal 5 for the BAD RELIGION / RISE AGAINST concert!! EEEE!!! This is an important milestone in my life. After seeing Bad Religion in a full-length concert for the first time last year (and having seen Rise Against several times in the past), I am no longer an ultimate awesomeness in concert newbie. No, I am a seasoned concert goer in this caliber of concert and to say that I am e-x-c-i-t-e-d is an understatement. A serious one. Expect some photos this weekend or next week! Lots of them. I even arranged my Half Marathon training and LSAT studying schedules this week around this concert. What? This is perfectly normal behavior.
  • In 2 1/2 weeks (on May 21st) I’ll be running my first half marathon ever: the Brooklyn Half-Marathon in Prospect Park which ends in Coney Island. My training’s been going fine so far, and I have a 9 miler on the menu for Saturday after the concert Friday night. Expect photos and a post about the Brooklyn Half afterward!
  • Oh right, Sunday night…interestingly enough I was not home in New York when “it” was announced, so I wouldn’t have had the chance to see the festivities at the WTC even if I wanted to; but I wouldn’t have wanted to. I think this piece in the New York Times sums up my feelings about the events of the past few days perfectly.
  • Actually, on that note, I wonder why the news media is focusing on two groups’ reactions almost exclusively to the rest of us who are right in the middle? What do I mean by this? Either you are seeing stories about what high schoolers and college students did in reaction (arguably too young back in 2001 to really grasp the significance of what was happening at that time) or people in their 30s, 40s, 50s, etc., who were far more subdued but at least had lived part of their adult life free of the “post-9/11” world. What about those of us who were high schoolers or college students in 2001? We had both the capacity to understand exactly what was happening to the world that day and after, but also had the entirety of our adult lives transformed. We are the “post-9/11” world, and we really don’t know anything different. I don’t think any of us can really imagine our lives without 9/11 and its immediate and long-term impacts. That said, I’ve found that a lot of people my age have had quite conflicted reactions that vary between those that are jubilant and those that seem to be almost indifferent, or both. It’s interesting to think about, and certainly something that will probably continue to define our generation and how we shape the future of this country.
  • On a lighter note, on Monday I signed up for NYRR’s Queens Half-Marathon in July. Two things about this: a) the course map from last year makes me dizzy…should make for an interesting experience; and b) being in July, this will probably be a nice and toasty race. Ruh roh.
  • Finally, on the “I apparently don’t take enough days off from work” front, I am taking off several days this month in addition to the week-long vacation I planned on taking in June because I am significantly over the maximum number of vacation days I’m allowed to carry over into the next anniversary year of my employment, which is in early June. Thus, I’ll also be taking off the Friday before the Brooklyn Half as well as a few days off at the end of May for the Memorial Day holiday (read: last hurrah for LSAT studying + moving things into storage in Boston). Should be fun. Having Monday off this week was kind of an odd experience…I didn’t quite know what to do with myself after I got home from Boston!

Anyway, that’s all for now! Excuse me while I go take some LSAT practice exams, work, run, and watch the ultimate in concert awesomeness this week!!

Oh, P.S. T-minus 5 days until I am a proud owner of the iPhone 4! EEE!!

Leave a Reply

